Lucas Oil School and M1 Concourse Combine to Host Team USA Scholarship Shootout

RANCHO SANTA MARGARITA, Calif. – The process of determining which two young drivers will carry the patriotic red, white and blue colors of the Team USA Scholarship at the Formula Ford Festival and the Walter Hayes Trophy events later this year in England – and earn an invitation to the end-of-season Mazda Road to Indy $200k USF2000 Scholarship Shootout – will continue with a shootout to be held at the M1 Concourse facility in Pontiac, Mich., on the weekend of September 8/9. The two days of evaluations, both on the track and off, will be held in conjunction with the Lucas Oil School of Racing.

The Team USA Scholarship is one of the most successful and longest established driver development programs in the world.
Almost a quarter of the drivers in this year’s Verizon IndyCar Series (five out of 21 full-season campaigners: Charlie Kimball,
JR Hildebrand, Josef Newgarden, Conor Daly and Spencer Pigot), plus current sports car stand-outs Dane Cameron, Joel
Miller, Joey Hand, Andy Lally, Bryan Sellers and Trent Hindman, are all Team USA alumni.

Six drivers have been invited to participate in the shootout, drawn from a variety of categories and following individual
interviews conducted during the recent Verizon IndyCar Series weekend at Mid-Ohio in front of an illustrious panel of judges
representing virtually every aspect of the sport.

The finalists are (with age, hometown and current racing affiliation):

  • Sabré Cook, 23, Grand Junction, Colo., SCCA GPfour Championship Road Racing
  • Elliot Finlayson, 21, Yorkville, Ill., SCCA GPfour Championship/F4 US Championship powered by Honda
  • Aaron Jeansonne, 19, Sulphur, La., Lucas Oil School of Racing
  • Jonathan Kotyk, 23, Atlantic Beach, Fla., F1600 Championship Series
  • Jacob Loomis, 17, Corinth, Texas, F4 US Championship/Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda
  • David Osborne, 21, Cincinnati, Ohio, F1600 Championship Series

Each candidate will be assigned one of the new-for-2016 Ray GR-RSC Lucas Oil School cars and one brand-new set of Cooper
tires for the duration of the shootout, which will be held for the first time on M1’s 1.5-mile Champion Motor Speedway road
circuit. An elite judging panel will be confirmed in the coming days.

“I’m proud and honored to host the Team USA Scholarship shootout for the second straight year, and I intend to be involved for
many more years too,” said Lucas Oil School of Racing Founder and CEO Neil Enerson. “The program has an incredible track
record of helping talented young drivers. I’m looking forward to seeing this new crop of youngsters in action.”

About Team USA Scholarship:
The program has been providing opportunities for talented American race car drivers at an early stage in their careers since 1990.
Supporters include Doug Mockett & Company, the Road Racing Drivers Club and, Cooper Tire & Rubber
Company, Team Penske, Mazda, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda Performance Development, Robertson Racing, Lucas Oil School of
Racing, PitFit Training, RaceCraft1, Sparco USA, RACER Magazine, Speedstar Management, Styled Aesthetic and Manifest Group.

For more information, please visit or find us on Facebook and Twitter.

Latest Stories

Prescott Finishes 3rd at NJMP USF2000 Event

The penultimate event of the 2020 USF2000 season proved to be a breakthrough weekend for me, with not only my first top-5 finish but my first podium as well! This year has been challenging to say the least, and going into the races at New Jersey Motorsports Park I was still looking to improve from my best result which I had gotten in the beginning of the season. My team Exclusive Autosport and I took part in a two day test at NJMP ahead of the races here, and we were able to gather valuable information and a solid starting setup for this event.

Read More »

Sign Up for HUGE Deals

Never Miss a beat with our Newsletter & Amazing Deals!